Nucor Leadership

Our leadership is focused on empowering our teammates to drive Nucor’s long-term success.

Executive Team

Leon J. Topalian

President and Chief Executive Officer

Stephen D. Laxton

Chief Financial Officer, Treasurer and Executive Vice President

David A. Sumoski

Chief Operating Officer

Al Behr

Executive Vice President Plate and Structural Products

John Hollatz

Executive Vice President of Bar, Engineered Bar and Rebar Fabrication Products

Douglas J. Jellison

Executive Vice President Raw Materials

Gregory J. Murphy

Executive Vice President Business Services and General Counsel

Daniel R. Needham

Executive Vice President of Commercial

K. Rex Query

Executive Vice President Sheet and Tubular Products

D. Chad Utermark

Executive Vice President of New Markets and Innovation


Norma B. Clayton

Retired Vice President The Boeing Company

Patrick J. Dempsey

President & CEO The Barnes Group

​Christopher J. Kearney

Retired Chairman, CEO & President SPX FLOW, Inc.

​Laurette T. Koellner

Retired President Boeing International

Joseph D. Rupp

Retired Chairman and CEO Olin Corporation

Leon J. Topalian

President and Chief Executive Officer Nucor Corporation

John H. Walker

Non-Executive Chairman Nucor Corporation Retired Chairman and CEO Global Brass and Copper Holdings, Inc.

Nadja Y. West

Lieutenant General, U.S. Army (Retired) & Former Commander of U.S. Army Medical Command

On March 25, 2022, we filed our definitive proxy statement relating to our 2022 Annual Meeting of Stockholders with the United States Securities and Exchange Commission, which names each of our current directors as nominees for election as directors.

Our Corporate Governance Principles provide that (i) in addition to service on the Board, directors may not serve on more than three public company boards and (ii) a director who is a CEO of a public company may serve on the board of that company and only one other public company board of directors.

The Board of Directors has adopted a policy that, in connection with reviewing the qualifications of and making recommendations to the Board regarding nominees for election as directors at each annual meeting of stockholders, the Governance and Nominating Committee will annually evaluate each candidate's prior service on and contributions to the Board, including consideration of each candidate's public company leadership positions and other outside commitments. All of our directors are currently in compliance with our overboarding policy.


Audit CommitteeCompensation and Executive Development CommitteeGovernance and Nominating Committee
Norma B. Clayton​checkcheckcheck
Patrick J. Dempsey​checkcheckcheck
Christopher J. Kearneycheckcheck*check
Laurette T. Koellnercheck*checkcheck
Joseph D. Ruppcheckcheckcheck
Leon J. Topalian
John H. Walkercheckcheckcheck*
Nadja Y. Westcheckcheckcheck
* Committee Chair

Nucor's History

The Evolution of America’s Leading Steelmaker & Recycler.

Learn More

Nucor's Family

See all of the companies and brands that make up Nucor Corporation.

Learn More